my introduction

  I began setting up this blog with something in mind to post.  Then during the course of setting up the blog I forgot what I was going to say.  Maybe I’ll remember it as I ramble a little.

  I guess the first thing I should do is introduce myself.  As my profile says, I’m a writer who writes mostly middle grade fantasy (middle grade means for ages ~9-12).  A lot of my inspiration comes from weird and interesting dreams.  I take more influence from fairy/folk tales and mythology than stereotypical fantasy like Tolkien (I say Tolkien is stereotypical not because he fit into a mold at the time he was writing, but because so many writers imitate him.  He was surely a great author worthy of being imitated, but it’s been done a lot are the imitations are very rarely up to a quality which compares to Tolkien himself.)  Some of my favorite authors who I take influence from are C.S. Lewis, E.Nesbit, and Terry Pratchett.

  The title for my blog (lightingliramor) is a reference to my recent novel, Out From the Darkness, where Liramor is a dark fairyland with evil fairies who like to give people nightmares.

  WordPress has this challenge to blog at least once a week (or once a day for extremists).  I’ve heard that you’re supposed to blog at least once a week anyway to have a quality blog going, so I’m going to try that.  Hopefully I won’t keep forgetting what I was going to say.

About David A Justiss

a fantasy novelist.
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to my introduction

  1. Since posting this, I have decided I shouldn’t limit myself to middle-grade fantasy because I may very well want to write something which isn’t best aimed for that audience.

Leave a Reply

