Two Frogs

  I’m interrupting my sceduled reruns to post a poem I wrote a while back which was I reminded of today.  It’s kind of a weird love poem, not written for anyone in particular.

  In the original file with the poem, I have about half a page of mixed Pink Floyd quotes as an introduction before the poem starts, to set the mood (and because the Pink Floyd quotes are awesome).  I’m going to post it the same way here for now, but I may delete the Pink Floyd quotes because I’m not sure of the correct way to cite my sources in this situation (and because there’s actually more lines of quotes than lines in the poem).  Here it is starting with the quotes, my poem starts with the title “Two Frogs” and the date I wrote it.

hey you
anybody in there?
your lips move but I can’t hear what you say
just nod if you can hear me

Can you tell a green field from a cold steel rail
a smile from a viel
And did they get you to trade your heroes for ghosts
Wish you were here

Witness the man who raves at the wall
making the shape of his question to Heaven

can’t keep my eyes from the circling sky
tongue tied and twisted just an earthbound misfit,
I think I should speak now
I can’t seem to speak now
It doesn’t have to be like this

no one showed us to the land
and no one knows the wheres or whys
but something stirs and something tries
and starts to climb towards the light
so I throw the windows wide
and call to you across the sky

what are you thinking?
what are you feeling?
let’s make sure we keep talking

— Two Frogs  (5/6/07)
though warty we
show that we love each other
share the pond scum, the spring water
 and the la ti du..
(anything else we find with the dew)
ribbets and tweeterbird tea
and it may be bitter as wormwood in the hot hours
soon it’ll be sweet and not watered down
we can play in the mud in the lawn
share the pond scum, the spring water
 and the la ti du..
(anything else that comes in the new)
under foot of grimy boots in the rain
but not squashed we can bear the pain
yellow and blue, green and orange
may be muddy but clean and renewed
pure white underneath the selection
of bugs and weeds and whatever else grew
the water shows our reflection…
many the color, can’t imagine the sight
the light in our future is uncertain but bright

Pink Floyd song titles in the order they were quoted:
Is there anyone out there?, Shine On You Crazy Diamond, Comfortably Numb, Wish You Were Here, See the Controls For the Heart of the Sun, Learning To Fly, Keep Talking, Echoes, (more from Keep Talking)

About David A Justiss

a fantasy novelist.
This entry was posted in Silly and/or Weird stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

