Overcomer (My Fantastic Imagination II)

I posted here about when I get silly fears because my imagination runs away with me. They’re fears like mirrors in the dark, fears which might as well be bogeymen.
One time at my writer’s group, someone suggested that I watch the movie Poltergeist to get ideas for describing a creepy atmosphere in my story. I don’t doubt that the movie could help me do that, but I’m a bit wary about watching that movie with the way my imagination is. I’ve heard that it’s one of the scariest movies ever made. Knowing my history with bogeymen, you can see that watching Poltergeist might not be a good idea for me.

On that note, I just finished a book last night (very very late last night) called “I Shall Wear Midnight” by Terry Pratchett (my 3rd favorite author of all time). Near the end, the main character, Tiffany Aching (a good witch), was counting her weapons to use against her supernatural enemy. One of them was fear. One particular line stood out for me, “because I fear, I will overcome that fear.” I read that line about seven times before moving on. This is what I was thinking:
“I have fears that other people don’t have
and because I fear, I will overcome that fear
which will give a courage that other people don’t have.”
I think you can look at most, if not all, types of problems this way:
“I have this problem that other people don’t have*
and because I have the problem, I will overcome it.
which will give me a strength I didn’t have before.”

*I know that very few problems, if any, are unique. There are always other people with the same problems as you (althought maybe not the same combination of problems), but people tend to feel as if they are the only one fighting what they are fighting. There’s an awesome Lifehouse song called Quasimodo which says, “Everyone is looking / and everyone is laughing / cause everyone feels the same.”

About David A Justiss

a fantasy novelist.
This entry was posted in About Writing, Other Ideas and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Overcomer (My Fantastic Imagination II)

  1. vic says:

    i love that thought!
    *copies it down- because brain is a sieve and if it’s not written, it’s forgotten*

  2. vic says:

    also, i used to have those kind of bogeyman fears as well… and sometimes still do. but courage only comes when we face those fears. still though, you should think about what you open your mind up to… maybe perhaps this wouldn’t be the best choice for you… i ADORE frank peretti, perhaps reading some of his Christian horror novels would aid you as a study for building that creepy, nervous kind of setting feel.

  3. Thanks vic, I’ve read several of Frank Peretti’s books, though not his more recent ones (The last one I read was The Visitation). I liked his works a lot. What the best of his later ones? I’ll have to pick it up.

Leave a Reply

