Lighting Liramor

In my novel, Out from the Darkness, Liramor is a dark fairyland where the evil fairy kobolds like to give people nightmares and the dullahan, the lord of the headless horsemen, rides to kill every night.
In the first draft of the story (this detail didn’t make it into the rewrite), the main character Darcy gices off light as she does what she came to do there.

Back in 2001, I had a dream where my family and I were staying in a house in the wilderness. It was in a plain with no hills, yet there was a mountain nearby. In the dream, I woke up to the morning light and looked out the open window. My eyes were still drowsy and not used to the brightness. I closed my eyes and prayed. When I opened my eyes I could see light and shadows and every detail of everything I looked at very clearly. The light seemed to be coming from a higher source than the sun, and it was very bright, but there was no glare and it didn’t hurt my eyes. And I became facinated with how the light made the shadows change by looking at something differently and with all the detail I could see of every tree and rock. It wasn’t until after I woke up, that I realized how the light was in the dream: When I was looking at the shadows, they weren’t opposite the sun. They moved when I moved and stayed opposite of me. The source of light lives inside me.

**The soundtrack to this blog entry is this song (This link is just the lyrics so don’t be scared away by my taste in music): Reflect / Refract by Becoming the Archetype

About David A Justiss

a fantasy novelist.
This entry was posted in My Stories, Other Ideas and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

