My clever (but cancelled/postponed) NaNoWriMo plan

Last Wednesday, I said I was preparing to do another Novel-in-a-month challenge this July. I also mentioned that the two novels I’ve been working on this past year both started as NaNoWriMo novels. The group I do this with often talks about creative and sometimes ridiculous ways of getting a lot of wordcount in a short time, but I try not to use the methods which seem cheesy to me. I’ve completed the 50000-word goal for a month three times before. I know I can do it, so I don’t want to resort to stuff which I think might create bad habits in my writing. But despite avoiding the more cheesy methods, I still add a lot of unnessesary words when doing this quantity-with-speed kind of thing.

In Out From the Darkness, my first (and only so far) novel with which I finished a full rewrite, more words were added in the rewrite than were taken out despite it having a lot of expendable wordage from the challenge. Certain plot aspects and characters needed fleshing out and description needed to be added (I tend to be a little sparse with description in my first drafts). The problem with this is that the second draft ended up being ~80K words, when a middle grade fantasy book is (supposedly) supposed to have a maximum of 45-50K words (I kind of argued against that here -not that arguing will do me much good). So, my plan for this year’s NaNoWriMo challenge is to write two different stories and connect them in some way (a way that can be easily undone later) so they can be called one ‘novel’ for the purposes of the challenge, with the goal being an average of 25K words for each of the two stories for 50K total. That way, if I want to rewrite one of the stories into something which can be rewritten/revised into something publishable later, I’ll be free to add more words than I take out and still be in the range for what a middle grade novel is supposed to be.

That’s the plan anyway.
…Most of this post was written about a week before it was posted. But then, in the last day or so before the challenge began, I decided I was getting excited enough about doing the rewrite of The Sacred Key that I’d rather work on that this month instead of doing the novel-in-a-month challenge. Maybe I’ll use the plan I described next year.

About David A Justiss

a fantasy novelist.
This entry was posted in About Writing, My Stories and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My clever (but cancelled/postponed) NaNoWriMo plan

  1. Joel Justiss says:

    Sounds like a creative and well-thought-out plan. By next year you’ll probably have come up with specific ways to implement it.

  2. Good plan. I like Nano also, but now that I know I CAN do it, I don’t stress if I’m busy with other projects at the time. So I’m glad you feel the same.

  3. Sounds like a good plan. Also: don’t sweat (quite) so much the wordcount on MG. I think there’s more flexibility there than you might imagine (but make sure your writing is really tight).

  4. @Lisa Yeah, it’s not everyday writers actualy get excited about REwriting, so I’ll definetly take advantage of it.

    @Susan Thanks. As a beginning writer looking around on the internet, I hear a lot of different advice from different places and it’s hard to tell what to take seriously and how seriously to take it.

Leave a Reply

